Rock Port 1979 HOF.jpg

(Rock Port) -- The KMA Sports Hall of Fame welcomed the 1979 state track champion from Rock Port to its halls on Tuesday.

The Blue Jays won the first of nine state championships under the direction of first-year coach Wayne Moore, who later guided the 1988 team to the state championship.

Rock Port went on to win seven more titles, but the 1979 team will always be remembered as the group that started it.

Rock Port picked up state championships from Chris Chamberlain in the 100 yard dash, from Rodney Clark in the 220 yard dash and from their 880 yard relay team of Chamberlain, Clark, Bill Alloway and Audie Jackson.

According to Coach Moore, Chamberlain also placed in the 220 and long jump, Clark placed in the 100 and Mike Nielsen had placements in the mile and two mile races. In all, the Blue Jays scored 52 points to finish two ahead of the Missouri School for the Deaf.

Several members of the team - and their former coach - were on hand at Tuesday afternoon's Blue Jays Relays for a short ceremony. View video interviews with Coach Moore and Chamberlain below.