(Undated) -- Voters in northwest Missouri rendered a verdict on some key issues in Tuesday's municipal elections.

By a 451-to-202 vote, Atchison County voters approved an increase in the Atchison County Health Department's levy from $10 to $15 per hundred dollars assessed valuation. In Rock Port, voters elected Amy D. Thomas mayor over write-in candidate Joshua Hayes, 138-to-54. And, Ron Deatz defeated Erika Daugherty in the race for Rock Port's north ward alderman's seat, 66-to-21. In the Fairfax R-III School Board race, Theresa L. Larson Pennel and Jon Graves won the two contested seats over Chris Smith. Meanwhile, Jo-Ellen Estes Moore edged Jerry Kirkpatrick in the Westboro mayor's race, 28-to-26. And, Krystal Manchester and Nathan Vardaman were elected to the two vacant Westboro alderman-at-large slots over Ashley Meier.

In Nodaway County, Dannan Carter Patee Merrill and John James McBride won the hotly-contested Maryville City Council seats over Ashley Hendrix and Timothy Jackson. And, James (JR) Kurz and Traci Westfall were the top two votegetters in the Maryville R-2 School Board race over Jill Banker and Monica McCullough.

Results of other city government and school board races in Atchison and Nodaway counties are available at

Thank you for reading

At KMA, we attempt to be accurate in our reporting. If you see a typo or mistake in a story, please contact us by emailing